Saskatchewan Landing Provincial Park

My brother Mike and I spend two nights in early July at Saskatchewan Landing Provincial Park, north of Swift Current. I pre-booked a site in Riverside campground which offered a site right on the shore of Lake Diefenbaker.

What I didn’t like: The site was treed on the northeast side so there was not much afternoon shade. (I should have realized this using simple orienteering skills when I choose my site). There were scores of red ants living on our shore area. Luckily the campsite itself had a lot less. Riverside is a short drive from most of the amneities. I think next time I would camp at Bearpaw campground. You still have to drive to the hiking trails and beach but is a bit closer. We could not locate Coulee trail and Brunyee Ridge trail was only half-marked (which we knew heading in). The marina did not offer canoe rentals as I had hoped. Most of these issues are aesthetic I do realize.

What I did like:  The lake is beautiful and ideal for boating and swimming. The beach was awesome. The sand was soft on the beach and in the water. It was shaded by large cottonwood trees which we attempted to climb with moderate success. The trails provide great views of coulees and the remnants of the past such as an old Metis “hill” home, burial markers, wagon trails, and teepee rings. We did not see much wildlife; just a white-tailed deer, a couple muskrats, and several species of birds. Bobcats, proghorn antelope, falcons, and owls also live in the area. The park offers many educational and entertaining events during the summer. Mike and I went on a moonlit hike with about twenty others guided by a park interpreter. Others schedued activities include folk singers at the Sagebrush Amphitheatre, guest speakers presenting information on bats and dinosaurs, and geocaching challenges. Guests can also book a park naturalist for a guided tour of any trail. Saskatchewan Landing is a large park and offers lots to explore.

Campsite: Δ Δ Δ Δ

Amenities: Δ Δ Δ Δ

Beach: Δ Δ Δ Δ

Hiking trails: Δ Δ Δ Δ

Lake: Δ Δ Δ Δ

Leave a Reply

