West Bend, Saskatchewan

Around 1903 – 1905 the first settlers in the West Bend district were Ukrainian farmers. In 1929 a general store was established in town. Six years later it had a rail station, three general stores, two blacksmiths, a restaurant, community hall, lumber yard, post office, three elevators, and four machinery agents. West Bend became a village in 1944 and the school was built in 1946.

However, by the late 1970s the town was being to decline. Its population was just 25 in 1980 and there were no stores by 1981. In 1982 the last train stopped in West Bend and the following year the tracks were removed.

The Model Farm Church, the Patronage of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 1909 just east of the current hamlet. It was rebuilt in 1933.

93080011

93080005

93080010

93080001

83250024

93080013

22 thoughts on “West Bend, Saskatchewan

  1. Good to hear. I was born and raised on a farm outside West Bend. Went to school and church there. I remember when the train would come into town. Everyone was in town that day. Mostly by horses.

    1. i was fortunate to accompany my dad on one of his last trips home to west bend area and filmed it all – late l990’s. An incredible journey for us.

    2. Do any of you remember or ever know a girl named Mary Klimosko? I worked with Mary in 1960-1963 and lost touch after her marriage to a Rod Smith. I used to use her ID, stating West Bend as place of birth, when I was 20 and you had to be 21 to drink in a bar!

      1. to gladys – i believe my GODFATHER WAS FRED KLIMOSKO – HAD A GAS STATION IN BANKEND????? PERHAPS MY OLDER SISTER SHIRLEY CAN GIVE YOU MORE INFO – ?? I WILL FORWARD THIS TO HER – SHE WENT TO SCHOOL THERE AND MAY REMEMBER MORE AS I WAS A BABE WHEN WE MOVED TO B.C. IN 1955

        BEST TO YOU – MARLIE BROWN – QUALICUM BEACH BC

      2. Thanks for replying, Marlie. I only knew Mary and she would have been born around 1939-40.
        Have you ever bumped into a Judy Cottle in Qualicum Beach? She was a good friend in Calgary before she retired to the coast – loves to play bingo.

  2. My father grew up on a farm in West Bend. I have fond memories of visiting my grandparents on the farm every few years while growing up. My dad moved us to the States, where I live here in upstate NY. Beautiful country up there. My uncle sold the land to Ducks Unlimited. I wonder where all the people are now that we used to visit there.

    1. Hi Susan,my parents left West Bend in 1952/53 to live in British Columbia. We went back to West Bend every year for our holiday. I am greatful for those trips as I am in touch with a lot of my cousins. My grandmother (Grebinski) and your grandfather were brother and sister. We always visited your grandparents, I knew your dad,vaguely. I do remember Delores, Loren and of course Richard. I believe you and would be 3rd cousins I being a lot older, 67 in April. My sister and I went to Regina last Oct. Had a great time. We went to an aunts 92nd birthday. We also spent a day in West Bend. My parents were Mike & Rose Blazriko.

    2. Hi Susan,my parents left West Bend in 1952/53 to live in British Columbia. We went back to West Bend every year for our holiday. I am greatful for those trips as I am in touch with a lot of my cousins. My grandmother (Grebinski) and your grandfather were brother and sister. We always visited your grandparents, I knew your dad,vaguely. I do remember Delores, Loren and of course Richard. I believe you and would be 3rd cousins I being a lot older, 67 in April. My sister and I went to Regina last Oct. Had a great time. We went to an aunts 92nd birthday. We also spent a day in West Bend. My parents were Mike & Rose Blazeiko. I have 2 sisters Grace & Marlene. Cheers Shirley

    3. Hi Susan, we just purchased the farm site that belonged to your uncle richard, I came across this post while doing some history research, If interested we have many photos and have come across many keepsakes,

      1. You bought my dads family homestead??? I am definitely interested, I was last there when I was 12 or so, after that, I didn’t get a chance to return, and my grandparents bought a house in Fort Quepelle …. But when I was there, I took my little camera, and took pictures…I would love to see what you have. Some day, hopefully in a couple yrs before my kids graduate highschool I hope to drive by…will you be farming the land or using it for recreational purposes?

        So interesting. I really glad you wrote. So, yes, I am interested!

  3. susan? i sent this comment on to my sister shirley kaban – she will get back to you as she remembers more than i do – both her and our other sister were in regina last fall for aunti rose grebinsky’;s 90th birthday and did meet up with other ozipko family member there – she can tell you more . sounds like you are in for an amazing family history journey here now – how wonderful and welcome to our family –

  4. Oh my gosh! I just love this connection! How strange, I came across a picture of Aunti Katie, my grandparents, this weekend and showed my dad. He pointed to the two other couples and said they were her children, Rose and Mike. Which, if I am following correctly, were your parents?

    I loved visiting Aunite Katy. The picture was a celebration of her, what I think was her, 90th birthday.

    Auntie Katie was your grandmother? I remember visiting her. As a young girl she was so kind to me, and I will always remember how crystal blue and beautiful her eyes were.

    Thank you for responding. I just end loved visiting that farm. Wheat fields blowing in the breeze….really not a sight like it.

    1. yes she was our baba – nice to see and hear that you have been in contact with my oldest sister shirley – our other sister grace lives on the mainland of vancouver area – i live on vancouver island – qualicum beach – baba used to feed us to death almost – literally lol – that i remember – iam the youngest of three and yes mike and rose were our parents – as far as i know only the youngest of baba’s kids is still alive – mary – marie klimczack – her husband is frank – they live in the interior of BC – salmon arm – their only child susan lives up island from me in courtney – how awesome this is – am sure my sister shirley will reply – as stated prior – she remembers more than i do – i was born in 55 – and moved to the coast as a six week old babe – so nice to chat with you – marlie brown

  5. Hi, I’m looking for info on The MUCHA’s that lived there.John, Carrie, Harry …. Ancestry has already been tried , so has LDS. Any ideas would be welcomed .Thanks

    1. susan klimczack has god mother of irene muszie – or different spelling form my fingers – i am in a cast – susans mom is marie klimczack from salmon arm bc – i remember irene and pete three kdis – richmond bc – twho girls and one boy i think – marlieb@shaw.ca

      we used to visit a lot – back in 60’s – my folks were blazieko – from foam lake/west bend sask – my sister shirley is on here and is older and knows more – ask her k

  6. My grandmother ran the café in West Bend. Mary Skyhar. I have unfortunately lost contact with my relitives from my mothers side over the years….

    1. i remember you well bonny – we used to visit you quite a bit over the years – you were the cutest little bundle – aunti anne blazieko was my aunt as well – on dads side – mike and rose blazieko – i am marleen (marlie) brown nee: blazieko – live in qualicum beach on the island – sisters grace ducharme lives in surrey and shirley lives in l00 mile house – i also remember your gramma ,
      take care

      1. Hi Bonny My name is Shirley (Blazieko) Marlies older sister. I remember you well . My parents used to visit your parents in Vancouver. You were a cute little thing. My husband and I are very good friends with your cousin (as well as my cousin) Ron Blazieko. We live in 100 Mile House for the past 35 years. Ron had mentioned he had tried to contact you once. Take care Shirley.

      2. I remember Ron. Dad & I went to his wedding way back when in Edmonton. I now live in Merritt. I stumbled upon an article in the Foam Lake paper about Aunt Lil. That is what led me to this site. I was very close to my Grandmother. I don’t know much about Kitzul side of my family with hope to know more about my Mom.

      3. Hi Bonny Ron would be the person to talk to about your moms family. .How long have you lived in Merritt and what do you do there. Merritt is a lovely town. We use to camp there years ago. A couple of years ago we met Ron and Darlene in Vancouver for a weekend. I know that Ron went to visit your dad. Ron is extremely caring and kind. He is like his mom. (aunt Ann) . Talk again Cheers Shirley

  7. Hi I am the wife of Morris Elynuik who grew up on a farm a couple of miles from West Bend. We were there a couple of years ago, and the only thing left standing is the school and town hall. For some reason, they were burning the buildings down. Oh yeah, there is still one family living in town.

Leave a Reply

